untitled

Here it is, guys! My first ever book review on my blog. (:

Let’s Begin..

Derek Fitzpatrick, newly expelled from boarding school, is forced to leave the sunshine of California and live with his ditzy stepmother in Chicago while his military dad is deployed. Derek’s counting the days before he can be on his own and move back to Cali. The last thing he needs is to get involved with someone else’s family drama.

Ashtyn Parker is dying for a football scholarship that would finally give her the chance to leave town and follow her dream. So she pours everything into winning a state championship, until her boyfriend and star quarterback betrays them all by joining their rival team. Ashtyn needs a new game plan, but it requires trusting Derek—someone she barely knows, someone born to break the rules. Is she willing to put her heart on the line to try and win it all?

REVIEW:

I was waiting for this book to come out for FOREVER. Personally, I read all of Simone’s books so I’ve been a fan from the start. The day of its release, I literally counted down the minutes until school was over so I can run and get it at Barnes N Nobles. I went home and read it in about 3 hours. It was funny, sad, heart-melting, and basically ALL THE FEELS. Since I’ve read all of Simone’s books, I had really high expectations for the book in particular. It turned out to be everything I wanted and then some. Props to Simone for giving us, yet again, a spectacular book.

My first impression of Ashtyn: Badass. I mean COME ON! Who has the guts to stab a GORGEOUS guy in the foot? You can tell as the book goes on, Ashtyn fights her feelings for Derek because he’s everything she doesn’t need in a guy. He’s cocky, arrogant, and a bit of a player. But there’s something about him that she finds intriguing. Same thing goes for Derek. Ashtyn is nothing like the dumb Barbie blondes back in California. She’s a hardworker, a dreamer, and a fighter. Eventually Derek learns that Ashtyn’s differences are what makes her attractive.

At the ending: oh my. Can every guy be as thoughtful and cute as that?

untitled3

I think everyone would agree when I say that the characters were the best part of the whole book. Simone has a special gift of creating characters that are relatable, but still distinct. I immediately felt a connection to Ashtyn. She works so hard for her team and so that she can have her dream of getting a football scholarship. Even though it seemed like it was impossible, she never gave up. When she did doubt herself, Derek was always there to give her some encouragement. As the book ended, I felt like I knew her forever.

Derek Fitzpatrick. GOD OF ALL HOTTIES.

untitled2

I fell in love with him from the start. He has grown so much from being a snotty, preppy boy into a meaningful and caring guy. Thanks Simone for making me raise my standards unbelievably high. LOL.

“Because I’m tryin’ to push you away when all I want to do is hold you. I know you say you don’t want a hero, but damn I’d like to be that guy who’ll save you from spiders and whatever and whoever else hurts you.”

OVERALL:

I thought that Wild Cards was a quick and cute read that I recommend for everyone, especially if you’re looking for complex characters that will manage to find their way into your heart before you even realize it. It was an emotional rollercoaster but left me speechless. While on her Wild Cards tour, I got the opportunity to go to one of Simone’s book signings. I got to talk to her about all her books and what inspired her to write each book. She told me her plans for the next book in the Wild Cards series and guess who’s story it will be? VICTOR! Can’t wait.

I totally recommend the rest of Simone’s books because if you love Wild Cards, you’d love the Perfect Chemistry series! My question for you: What was you favorite part in Wild Cards? and Who was your favorite character? Shoot me a comment below.

photo

Until next time…. Catcha Later Readers!

