untitleddddd

The House of Night series is set in a world very much like our own, except in 16-year-old Zoey Redbird’s world, vampyres have always existed.  In this first book in the series, Zoey enters the House of Night, a school where, after having undergone the Change, she will train to become an adult vampire — that is, if she makes it through the Change.  Not all of those who are chosen do. 

It’s tough to begin a new life, away from her parents and friends, and on top of that, Zoey finds she is no average fledgling.  She has been Marked as special by the vampyre Goddess, Nyx.  But she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers.  When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school’s most elite club, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny–with a little help from her new vampyre friends.

REVIEW:

I thought this book was…okay. It kept me fairly interested, but I never got that “jaw-dropping moment” in any point of the book. To me, there was no climax. I felt like I was waiting for something to happen, but nothing exciting ever did. The storyline is pretty cool, I’ll give it that. I just didn’t fall in love with it. Maybe the first book was just trying to give readers a background of the vampire world, but it just wasn’t exciting. I usually like paranormal romance type of books, but Marked was just…..bleh. It wasn’t the worst book in the world. It was just mediocre.

We begin by meeting Zoey. She introduces her ditzy best friend and her drunken trashy boyfriend. Original… Zoe is marked by a vampyre and when she returns home, we meet her mother.  Naturally, Zoe is naive, reasonable, and rational in all of her dealings.  Any anger or temper she displays is COMPLETELY understandable.  It is her mother who is stupid, weak and foolish for marrying again and Zoe has NO CHOICE but to run away or her religious step-father will likely cause her death out of his own ignorance and stupidity.

She then goes to the House of Night, which is a vampire boarding school. She is totally excluded from everyone else because her mark on her forehead is different. We come to the conclusion that Zoey is “special” and yet we are never explained WHY she is just so special. Her friends are boring and poorly created. There’s also a mean girl, Aphrodite. Aphrodite has a boyfriend , Erik, who is in love with Zoey. A Love triangle. Zoey goes until the end of the story convincing herself that she is more special than the other fledglings. After Zoey introduces her friends, she discovers she has power over all of the elements, and stages a plan to get rid of Aphrodite, the current leader of the Dark Daughters – a clique whose current leader is the favourite of High Priestess Neferet to take over her position.

I really don’t want to bore you guys with all the details so I’ll just sum things up. I found the subject of being marked and then transforming into a vampire somewhat interesting. I think that the book was just poorly written. In most books, I am able to place myself in the book and visualize the events occurring, but in Marked my mind was just….blank. I didn’t find any of the characters interesting and I felt like the story never got anywhere excited. Maybe I’m the only one that feels this way, but Marked didn’t really interest me that much.

Love to hear what you have to say in the comments below!

Until next time…..

Catcha later readers!

