17623975

Allyson Healey’s life is exactly like her suitcase—packed, planned, ordered. Then on the last day of her three-week post-graduation European tour, she meets Willem. A free-spirited, roving actor, Willem is everything she’s not, and when he invites her to abandon her plans and come to Paris with him, Allyson says yes. This uncharacteristic decision leads to a day of risk and romance, liberation and intimacy: 24 hours that will transform Allyson’s life.
 
A book about love, heartbreak, travel, identity, and the accidents of fate, Just One Day shows us how sometimes in order to get found, you first have to get lost. . . and how often the people we are seeking are much closer than we know.

REVIEW:

WHAT. WHAT?! If you’ve read Just One Day before, you understand my dilemma. The ending killed me. I just wanted to throw my book at the wall and cry. It was torture. Other than the INSANE ending, I thought the book was brilliant. Every page kept me engaged and interested. I felt every emotion you could ever feel when I read it. I loved the whole storyline about traveling through Paris not knowing your next move, but enjoying the accidents.

Allyson Healey has anything and everything planned out. She always stays on tasks and never EVER takes risks. When Allyson and her best friend, Melanie, leave their European tour group early to visit Melanie’s relatives in London, Allyson meets Willem. Willem is basically the opposite of Allyson. He is a carefree and adventurous traveler who embraces the thrill of traveling and not knowing where you will end up. Allyson and Willem become acquainted while on the train. Willem shares with Allyson that she reminds him of a silent film actress, Louise Brooks, so he nicknames Allyson “Lulu” for short.

Allyson tells Willem how they were supposed to go to Paris, but the trip got cancelled. Willem responds by saying, “What’s stopping you? Go.” Lulu contemplates her decision. Should she play safe and stay with Melanie or finally take a risk by going to Paris with Willem? She sheds her goody-girl side and decides to go with Willem. Throughout their journey, Allyson tries to become Lulu: someone adventurous and some who takes risks.

In just one day, Willem shows Lulu not just the attractions in Paris, but how to be bold and courageous. Because of Willem, Allyson becomes who she’s always wanted to be: Lulu. Lulu falls in love with Willem. I mean who wouldn’t fall in love with Willem. He’s Dutch, he speaks French, he is an actor, and he is BEYOND gorgeous. Willem seems to fall in love with her too. At the end of the day, they spend the night together. When Lulu wakes up, Willem is gone. It makes you think that’s Willem just stayed with Lulu to get in her pants, but Lulu doesn’t believe that. Where is he? Why did he leave? Will he come back? If you think you can guess and jump to conclusions about this book, you’re wasting your time because Just One Day is full of surprises.

OVERALL:

This book was superb. Pretty soon, I will be taking a European trip with my high school so it made my reading experience even more relatable. I felt like I was Allyson, trying to find my true identity and gradually falling in love with a guy who has taught me so much about life itself. This book should definitely be #1 on your reading list. I couldn’t say it enough, You will love this book. Whether you like action, fantasy, or sci-fi books, You will LOVE Just One Day.

Love to hear what you thought of the book!

Until next time…..

Catcha later my beautiful readers!

