16279856

Michael is a gamer. And like most gamers, he almost spends more time on the VirtNet than in the actual world. The VirtNet offers total mind and body immersion, and it’s addictive. Thanks to technology, anyone with enough money can experience fantasy worlds, risk their life without the chance of death, or just hang around with Virt-friends. And the more hacking skills you have, the more fun. Why bother following the rules when most of them are dumb, anyway?

But some rules were made for a reason. Some technology is too dangerous to fool with. And recent reports claim that one gamer is going beyond what any gamer has done before: he’s holding players hostage inside the VirtNet. The effects are horrific—the hostages have all been declared brain-dead. Yet the gamer’s motives are a mystery.

The government knows that to catch a hacker, you need a hacker.
And they’ve been watching Michael. They want him on their team.
But the risk is enormous. If he accepts their challenge, Michael will need to go off the VirtNet grid. There are back alleys and corners in the system human eyes have never seen and predators he can’t even fathom—and there’s the possibility that the line between game and reality will be blurred forever.

REVIEW:

I LOVE James Dashner’s books. I read the Maze Runner series and was totally addicted to it. It was so different than any other story I’ve read. When The Eye on Minds came out, I didn’t hesitate to read it. Did I get the same reaction as I did when I read the Maze Runner? Not really.

It was not a terrible book at all. Maybe I just had really high expectations because when I finished the book, I wasn’t completely satisfied. The Eye of Minds is basically a book version of the Matrix. I liked the storyline a lot, but the pacing was what set me off. I felt like the story kept dragging on and on. It was like Michael was on a never-ending quest with no climax or anything interesting to keep me engaged.

Michael is a gamer addicted to Lifeblood Deep. Lifeblood is a game mimicking real life and it’s the most popular game in VirtNet. VirtNet is a vast cyber world, with games and hangouts for gamers of all ages. In VirtNet, you can experience just about anything you wish to. You can alter your appearance by hacking the codes. You can eat, but you’ll never get fat in the real world because the Coffin (which is what most people call the NerveBox that allows them to connect to the virtual world) feeds you pure, healthy nutrients, even if you think you’re eating some high calorie junk food. You can cut your hair, take a shower, even pee if you want to, and the Coffin will provide your brain and body with stimulants that will make the experience feel real.

It seems like a harmless and entertaining game until a cyber-terrorist named Kaine is somehow trapping people inside the Sleep, not letting them wake up. And not being able to get back to their real lives, some of them end up killing themselves. And not just in the virtual reality, but in the Wake, too.

Michael is soon contacted by the VNS (VirtNet Security). Turns out, the government is looking for Kaine and to put a stop to his madness. But in order to get to Kaine, the VNS needs Michael’s expert hacking skills. Now Michael will go on a dangerous journey with his two best friends to locate Kaine.

OVERALL:

I thought the Eye of Minds was alright. I think if you are into a sci-fi type of book, this would be perfect for you. I think if it had better characters, more organization, and a faster pace, I would be in love with it. I ended up being overwhelmed by the constant technology talk. It was hard to follow what was going on when I didn’t fully grasp the VirtNet terms. Maybe if you are interested in these types of books, you’d have better luck than me.

untitledkele

