11614718

Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient.

It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

REVIEW:

Whoa. This book was mind-blowing. I know I say that a lot about books, but this book was insane (in a good way, of course!). This is what I love about dystopian-type of books. Authors like Lauren Oliver create this new and unique world that engages and drags you into their lives. It’s an epic experience. Lauren Oliver is definitely on my “Favorite Authors” list after reading Delirium. The way Lauren Oliver writes so effortlessly was the reason why I loved it so much! Most importantly, it felt real. With a lot of Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Dystopian books, the world can seem impossible and just a reader’s fantasy. But it felt so REAL. I felt everything that Lena was feeling. Her problems with her family, her first love, her hesitation between what she has been taught since she was a child and what her heart is telling her to do. Not only was it interesting, it was touching. I can’t say enough about how much I loved Delirium. I LOVED it in every way possible! Props to Lauren Oliver!

400962

Delirium centers on seventeen-year-old, Lena. The book focuses on her eagerness to get the ‘procedure’ and to be cured from amor deliria nervosa (falling in love) before the disease inevitably infects her the way it did her mother.

“It has been sixty-four years since the president and the Consortium identified love as a disease, and forty-three since the scientists perfected a cure. Everyone else in my family has had the procedure already. My older sister, Rachel, has been disease-free for nine years now. She’s been safe from love for so long, she says she can’t even remember its symptoms. I’m scheduled to have my procedure in exactly ninety-five days, on September 3rd. My birthday.”

She notices her neighbors home vandalized and torn from their privacy because they were suspected of being sympathizers to rumored `Invalids’ who reject the cure. In this society, parents are detached and unemotional. They never bond with their children and appear not to care when their child is hurt right in front of them. The most horrifying thing about this society is that no one fights back. Even Lena ,who witnesses some of the terrifying actions firsthand, has been so brainwashed by the government that she accepts this is the only way to stay safe.

Lena meets Alex. Gorgeous, built, and basically the epitome of every girl’s fantasy. Alex changes the way Lena thinks about life, the world, and the teachings that have been engraved into her mind. She does not come easily to the other side, and it’s that painful, heartbreaking, and moving self-discovery that made me fall in love with Delirium! Lena and Alex bond almost instantly and become inseparable. After a while, Lena develop….feelings. She has never felt this way before. What is this? Could it be……love? Read Delirium by Lauren Oliver to find out!

**Remember to enter in the Vampire Academy giveaway here on Bookwormstothemax! Check out the “Giveaways” tab for more information! Giveaway ends 2/10/14

Until next time..

Catcha later readers!!

