18234283

Rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads Summary: She was found abandoned. Her name forgotten. Her memory taken. In a decaying world ravaged by an untamable forest, seventeen-year-old Basil had a comfortably secluded life. She lived by a few unspoken rules, NEVER cross into the forbidden wing of the Manor, don’t trust any OUTSIDERS, and to ALWAYS keep her etching covered. Ever since she had been discovered, she always followed these rules…until, Basil’s etching begins to burn, memories start rushing back, and a silver-eyed boy, an outsider, appears. Basil soon uncovers why these whispered regulations were put into effect, not only to protect her but everyone around her.

Review: I absolutely loved Etched! I could not put it down. I was so engaged into Basil’s world that I had trouble coming back to my own world. Crazy what good books can do to you, huh? Britt Nunes is a fairly new author and I just can’t wait to see what lies ahead for her. Etched was explosive, secretive, and oh so enticing. It is so different than other books I’ve read. Britt’s writing is so flawless and flowed very easily. I surely recommend you read Etched!

We first start off meeting Basil. No one knows who she is, how she ended up in the swamp, and most importantly, why she’s etched…Basil is found and rescued by Maggs and Erin, a middle-aged couple residing in the Manor. We learn from Bail’s POV that she doesn’t even know who she is, let alone why she is etched. Readers are not fully explained what it is to be “etched”, but the secrecy is what makes the novel even more appealing. All we know is kids with the etching mark are being taken, which is why Basil needs to hide her etching and hide herself…

The characters, in my opinion, were the best part of the novel. They were all different, but relatable. Maggs, Erin, Basil, and everyone else were such a wonderful group of characters. The writing style of Etched was a bit different than the other books I’ve read. It took a chapter or two to get used to it, but it made the reading experience new and refreshing. Etched has a little bit of everything. There’s action, drama, and even a little romance.

Overall, I adored Etched. It was the perfect balance of Science-Fiction and Drama. The only cons I have on the novel was 1) I understand that Etched would be considered as a Dystopian novel, but I was a bit confused on what kind of world Basil lived in. I know there was different territorites, but if it was explained a little bit more, I would have given Etched a 5. 2) I still had a couple questions at the end of the novel. Maybe the author infused a degree of confusion so the questions will be answered in the second installment, which is why I can’t wait for the second book!

Until next time….

Catcha later bookworms!

 

