photofkmd

Welcome to another Feature Friday, Bookworms!

 Every Friday, you can see cool bookish videos, announcements, guest bloggers, author interviews, and much more! So come back and see what’s new! If you are a blogger or author who would like to participate in a Feature Friday, contact me through my email: bookworm(underscore)tothemax(at)yahoo(dot)com ! As always, leave a comment if you have any questions, comments, or just want to say hi!

This Friday, I am proud to have Rebekah Crane here on Bookwormstothemax. Thank you so much Rebekah for taking the time to do an interview!

 

Eileen: Your upcoming novel, Aspen, will be released pretty soon. How would you describe it in one word?

Rebekah: Honest.

 

Eileen: Aspen has some interesting characters. Were they based on people you know?

Rebekah: No one specific. Sometimes character’s little quirks are inspired by people I know (like Leona and Toaster in ASPEN), but never anything big. Though I will say, there is something about Ben that is very specific to me, but I’m not revealing that. 🙂

 

Eileen: If you had to choose, which writer (or writers) would you consider as a mentor?

Rebekah: Jane Austen, Jane Austen, JANE AUSTEN! How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. Ok, I won’t list everything, but she is my idol. Her ease of wit and humor is amazing. Her slight (and not slight) commentary on society and the inner workings of people is truly brilliant. Yes… I want to have her brain.

 

Eileen: What book/books are you reading now?

Rebekah: I have a few books going at the same time. Right now, I’m just about done with Bethany Crandell’s YA debut SUMMER ON THE SHORT BUS. It’s brilliant. She and I are so similar it’s crazy. We might take over the world together. I’m also reading Jessica Park’s new novel FLAT-OUT CELESTE. I’ve been with the book since the beginning; I’m so damn invested and I love this story. And I just downloaded LAST CHILD IN THE WOODS.

 

Eileen: As a writer, what is the hardest part in writing a novel?

Rebekah: For me, it’s patience. So much of publishing is waiting. Waiting for the story to take shape. Waiting for editors to get back to you. Waiting for readers to read your book. Waiting for publication dates. And it never ends. When one book goes to print, there’s always another story to be written. I have to remind myself to breathe.

 

Eileen: What advice would you give an aspiring author (a.k.a Meeeee!)?

Rebekah: Learn to take criticism and find good people to give it to you.

 

Eileen: Is there a reason you chose to write novels in the Young Adult genre over other genres?

Rebekah: I never considered writing anything other than YA. Teenagers are so raw. Everything sits on the surface and at the same time is buried so deep. It’s awesome to explore that within characters and stories.

 

Eileen: When did you decide to become an author?

Rebekah: When I turned 30. I’m not one of those people who knew that they wanted to be a writer from birth. I wanted to star on Broadway when I was in high school. I wasn’t even in honors English.

 

Eileen: How do you get rid of writer’s block?

Rebekah: I do a lot of yoga. I also talk to my writer friends. They help a lot.

 

Eileen: What are you working on now? a sequel? anything new?

Rebekah: My next book is called CONDITIONS OF EXISTENCE. It’s a dark comedy about a summer camp for teenagers with “heightened mental and emotional states”– basically kids with depression, anxiety, compulsive lying, eating disorders, all the way to schizophrenia. I pitched it as The Breakfast Club on crack at summer camp. I absolutely LOVE writing it.

There you have it bookworms! Aspen releases June 5th. Buy it. Read it. Love it.

Thank you for joining us again, Rebekah!

Author Bio

Rebekah_Crane-e1397169744121

Rebekah Crane fell in love with YA literature while studying Secondary English Education at Ohio University. After having two kids, living in six different cities, and finally settling down in the foothills of her beloved Rocky Mountains, her first novel, PLAYING NICE, was published. ASPEN, her second YA novel, set in Boulder, CO, is due to release in summer 2014 from In This Together Media. She now spends her day carpooling kids or tucked behind a laptop at 7,500 ft high in the Rockies, where the altitude only enhances the experience. 

 

___________________

www.rebekahcrane.com

www.facebook.com/playingnicebook

 

 

