13188676

Goodreads Summary: The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end.

Rating: 5/5

Review: Yes! YES. YEEESSS. I don’t know how to express my love for this book other than 1) screaming, 2) squealing, 3) dancing, and of course 4) bawling my eyes out. Honestly, I feel like this review will be so messy and unorganized so bear with me! Everything about Ignite Me was intense. Good Intense. Scary Intense. And Crawling-Into-A-Corner-And-Cry Intense. I am convinced that Tahereh Mafi is a Master Writer God because it was so deep and powerful. Tahereh’s writing is perfect in every way and uses symbolism exquisitely. I’m kind of sad that my favorite series has officially ended! It’s like losing a piece of me.. Maybe Tahereh will love her fans enough to write a spin-off? (Kenji Spin-off?!)  Okay, beware: I’m going to begin rambling..

Ignite Me is my favorite book in the series, not because it is the finale, but because it was the most powerful. Looking  back at Shatter Me, I’ve noticed how much Juliette has changed. She is no longer the weak, innocent, and timid girl. She finally realizes her infinite power and OWNS IT. She’s tired. So tired of being afraid. So tired of hiding and waiting for something to happen. She wants to be proactive. Juliette is finally ready to make a change and destroy the Reestablishment – once and for all.

I don’t think I can continue my review without giving things away so if you have already read Ignite Me, continue reading. If you haven’t, do not continue! Spoilers coming right now.

Don’t Do It..

Last chance!

Spoilers!!

 

OH MY SWEET BABY JESUS. Warner. I think I fell in love with him in 500 different ways (if that makes any sense). I had my doubts and I did not expect me to fall in love with him either. In Unravel Me, I didn’t fully trust Warner. I was afraid for Juliette’s safety and frankly, afraid to get my heartbroken. I had such a deep connection with Juliette and wanted to be there for her at all costs. But Warner totally proved me wrong. He was so misunderstood and vulnerable. He cared about Juliette more than she knew. I’m glad Juliette ended up with Warner instead of Adam. Adam loved the old Juliette. Juliette was no longer that girl Adam once knew. She was stronger and didn’t need a man to always be there to protect her because ummm, hello? SHE’S INVINCIBLE! Good for Juliette, Warner saw Juliette’s potential and power. Juliette didn’t need protection. She needed someone who did not hold her back from being the person she is now.

I did not expect Juliette and Warner to jump into SEX like that! Holy cow, it was intense I must say! 😀 Once Juliette declares her love for him, he does not waste any time. He practically attacks her…with his mouth. Warner is the epitome of every girl’s fantasy. He’s strong. manly, and tough, but he’s still gentle, caring, and unbelievably charming. I get goosebumps just thinking about him because HE’S THAT SEXY. He was everything Juliette needed. I hopelessly fell in love with him..

Adam. You insensitive cow. Adam made me so frustrated! Adam, SHE BROKE UP WITH YOU. Why are you so bitter?! She has every right to move on and be with who she wants. Obviously, Juliette put Adam in a tough spot. How would you feel if the love of your life fell in love with your brother? But it’s not like Juliette could help it. Our hearts work in crazy and impulsive ways. Our hearts do what they want. I think I was hyperventilating during Adam and Juliette’s fight at Adam’s house on unregulated territory. HOW CAN YOU BE SO HEARTLESS, ADAM! I don’t remember if Adam and Juliette fully made up in the end, but I would have liked Adam and Juliette to rebuild their relationship and become friends.

I LOVED KENJI. Can Kenji please be my best friend? I don’t think I’ve ever been THIS passionate about a character before. Kenji is witty, a little inappropriate, but protective of Juliette. I loved his funny comments to Juliette! And he can be invisible, how cool is that?! I was kind of disappointed that Kenji never found love, but I VOLUNTEER AS TRIBUTE!!

The ending was…okay. Part of me felt like the ending was a bit rushed. In about 5 pages, Anderson is dead and Juliette is the leader of the people. I wished Tahereh took her time in the ending, but I still loved it!

Until next time..

Catcha later bookworms!

