25111004

Goodreads Summary: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Review: What a monumental moment. Writing my first review in over a year and on a book written by none other than my favorite author. Colleen has been an author I’ve been loyally committed to since the day I opened up Hopeless. From the moment I opened to page 1, my bookworm life was changed forever (“spare us the dramatics, Eileen!” I know, I know. But it’s true!!). Since then, I’ve read all of Colleen’s books and each time she somehow tops the previous book. I don’t know how she does it, but she is seriously some sort of romance novel wizard. Please, Colleen, teach me your ways!! Each time I read one of her books, my expectations get higher and higher which is why I was quite nervous to read November 9. Will I fall in love with the characters as much as I did in Hopeless? Will I cry my eyes out like I did in Ugly Love? Will my heart break into a million pieces like it did in Maybe Someday?

Despite my doubts, November 9 was everything I wanted it to be and then some. Whenever I read one of Colleen’s books, it doesn’t feel like I’m reading. It feels like I am on some sort of crazy adventure tagging along with all the characters. An adventure I never want to leave.

It all starts with Fallon. A girl insecure about her flaws embarking on a new adventure across the country when she meets Ben the day before she leaves. With a ridiculously funny introduction, it leads these two characters to spend her last night in town with each other. This becomes the inspiration for Ben’s first novel and for the two too met up every year on the same day.

Okay pause. I admit that looking at this plotline by itself, it does seem a bit cheesy and predictable, but trust me when I say that Colleen will blow your mind.

And OKAY we’re back… I’m literally so obsessed with Fallon and Ben. They’re both so easy to fall in love with. Fallon with her insecurities and Ben with his boyish charm will win your heart over within a few pages. Fallon is this character who is struggling to find her passion again in life, and Ben who knows what he wants to do, but needs a little guidance. I loved being able to witness their ups and downs. I loved how their struggles became our struggles. Like all the characters in Colleen’s books, we get to grow alongside Fallon and Ben as well as going through so much time with them. Fallon and Ben will make you feel every single emotion. Literally ALL THE FEELS. One page these two would have me dying laughing then I would turn it and the next I would be crying so hard I couldn’t breathe.

Overall, November 9 did not disappoint. It surpassed my exceedingly high expectations, reminded me why I started reading books in the first place, and question why I ever stopped. I absolutely recommend reading November 9 with every ounce of my being. It will be the most emotional rollercoaster you will ever be on, but a ride you will not want to get off.

“When you find love, you take it. You grab it with both hands and you do everything in your power not to let it go. You can’t just walk away from it and expect it to linger until you’re ready for it.”  

Thank you guys for always supporting Bookwormstothemax and helping me make it what it is today. I’m so excited to be back and I can’t wait for my bookworms to see everything I have planned for the future. 🙂

Until next time….

Catcha later bookworms!

